Favorite Detox Recipes

Some of my favorite detox recipes and dishes also happen to be some of my favorite dishes period! It’s easy to stick to the detox plan when everything tastes great. My secret to eating really flavorful dishes while detoxing is loading up on the fresh herbs and dried spices. My Mom and Dad are both amazing cooks and I learned a lot from them about layering flavors with spices. Many herbs will help you detox naturally anyway, so be liberal with them.

Just because you’re on a detox doesn’t mean you have to lose weight (unless that’s your goal, and then just practice your portion control). I know many people who suffer from food allergies who are underweight and can’t afford to lose any pounds during a detox. The following are all hearty and healthy recipes that I loved and ate so much of, I actually gained a few needed pounds.

– Quinoa Tabouli –

– Soy-free Egg “Muffins” –

An oldie, but goodie.

I previously wrote about my egg “muffin” concoction I made for our anniversary here. There are so many different variations of what you can add to the whisked up egg in the muffin tin. My favorites include sauteed kale, caramelized onions, and slices of grape tomatoes topped with melted Rice Cheese.

– Hearty, Meaty Brown rice Pasta

with Homemade Cabernet Tomato Sauce –

My go-to after a long day of work in the winter. Super hearty, filling, and healthy.

My favorite comfort food of the moment. Be sure to use Brown-rice pasta only, as regular rice and corn pasta should be avoided while on a detox. The extra fiber from the Brown-rice pasta helps keep your digestive system healthy throughout the cleanse.

I like to cook up about a pound of grassfed ground beef, drain it, then add 4 or 5 pureed Roma tomatoes to the same large fry pan over medium heat. I season it heavily with Italian herbs, both fresh and dried, salt, pepper, and sometimes some red pepper flakes or Cayenne. I let some of the water cook off, then add just under a half-cup of Cabernet or other red wine (you can skip this step if you want to avoid wine altogether on your detox, but I seem to do fine with it after I let all the alcohol cook off in the pan for about 6 to 8 minutes).

– Thick and Creamy Butternut Squash Soup –

Add a dash of cinnamon and a tiny bit of red pepper flakes for some extra warmth.

This is one of my favorite recipes overall. I will be reserving my own secret recipe for use in my cookbook, but this recipe is great for adding your own flair to.

And who could go wrong with a great guacamole? Always a go-to in my kitchen.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Leave a comment