Flourless Orange Vanilla Cake (Paleo)

2 years ago to the day, I met someone that lit a light in my life.

I didn’t know it at the time, but that person would save my life in more ways than one. He opened up a world to me which I knew nothing of before and taught me how to finally and fully go after all the things that I dreamed I could do. I quite literally might not be here today if it weren’t for him. When I was gasping for air during my first life threatening allergic reaction, he was there to grab my hand and get me to safety. Though I couldn’t fully tell him what was happening to me, he somehow knew to give me anti-histamines while we waited for the ambulance. I’m so lucky and happy to call him my best friend. I love him dearly.

One of Yan’s favorite recipes of mine is basically the inverse of my chocolate paleo cake. This is an orange vanilla version that he describes as unbelievably moist and delicious. A few of our friends who are also from eastern europe said it was reminiscent of a type of Russian cake they used to have on occasion. I just love that a flourless and paleo cake can stand on the same level as rich glutenous cakes–everyone that tried it typically eats gluten. But as long as Yan says it’s good, I’m happy. I wish I could do more to say thank you for everything and I love you.


Flourless Orange Vanilla Cake (paleo)

This recipe is free of: Grains, Gluten, Soy, Dairy, Peanuts, Legumes, Yeast, and Refined Sugar.

  • 2 cups almond flour/meal. I used Bob’s Red Mill Almond flour/meal.
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 3/4 cup xylitol (from birch, not from corn) or alternative sweetener of choice. (If it’s a liquid sweetener reduce the other liquids accordingly).
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon orange oil. I use Simply Organics orange flavor.
  • 3 eggs (I use soy free fed eggs).
  • 3/4 cup coconut milk or almond milk
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • Optional: zest of 1/2 an orange
  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Use butter or coconut spread to grease a 8 or 9 inch round cake pan.
  2. Mix the dry ingredients and combine well. Combine the wet ingredients in a separate bowl and add them to the dry, whisking with a fork. Stir until well combined. There’s no need for an electric mixer here.
  3. Pour the batter into the cake pan and bake for 30-35 minutes. Insert a toothpick into the center to ensure it’s cooked through. Let it cool and add topping of choice, such as a chocolate drizzle or simple orange zest.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

8 responses

  1. Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long as
    I provide credit and sources back to your weblog? My blog site is in
    the exact same niche as yours and my users would certainly benefit from some of the information you present here.

    Please let me know if this alright with you. Thanks a lot!

    • Hi Eliza,

      That would be fine as long as before any complete reblogs, there is a paragraph beforehand letting the reader know where the original content comes from, along with a link to the post itself and the homepage. Thanks for your note and thank you for asking permission =)

  2. Pingback: Why Breakfast Should Rock Your World « Sprinkles and Allergies

  3. Pingback: Gluten-free, dairy-free, soy-free, sugar-free eating for babymaking « Babymaker journey

Leave a comment